contents
PersBackup

Personal Backup Version 6.0

© 2001 − 2019, Dr. J. Rathlev

Personal Backup in the Windows notification area

After starting the program, an Icon icon will be displayed in the Windows notification area (usually at the bottom right-hand corner of the screen). Under Windows 7, 8 and 10 this icon may initially be hidden, in which case do the following:

Left-clicking the icon

This will display the schedule of all automatic backups. Optionally, you can open the program desktop window by clicking the Show desktop button.

Information

Right-clicking the icon when the program window is opened

When using multiple monitors it can happen that the program window remains hidden because it is located on a monitor that has been removed or switched off. In this case right-clicking the icon will optionally move the window to its default position on the first (main) screen.

Right-clicking the icon when the program is running in the background

This will open a local menu to start several different actions. Clicking on Personal Backup will open the program desktop window to create or edit backup task and to start it manually,
Clicking on Quit Program will terminate the program running in background. The icon will be removed from the notification area and no more automatic backups will be performed until the next user logon.
Clicking on Cancel will close the right-click menu without further action.

Start backups

Start backups

The list shows all tasks designated for automatic execution. You can either start all listed tasks one after another or one selected. Before starting the backup in any case a dialog is opened to optionally specify standby or hibernation afterwards.


Restore

Start restore

The list shows all recently used restore tasks. After selecting one of them the associated configuration will be loaded into the dialog window for restoring files and can there be started manually. Alternatively, the dialog can be opened without loading a task, e.g. to create a new one.


Clean up

Clean up

The list shows all recently used clean-up tasks. After selecting one of them the associated configuration will be loaded into the dialog window for Clean up directories and can there be started manually. Alternatively, the dialog can be opened without loading a task, e.g. to create a new one.


Standby

Standby

The computer will be put into standby mode. Optionally, you can select if the backup tasks designated for execution at logoff shall be performed before.


Shutdown

Shutdown

You can select how to shut down the computer and if backups should be performed before.

with backup
All backup tasks designated for execution at logoff will be started, after which the computer will be shut down.
with backup, then hybrid sleep
All backup tasks designated for execution at logoff will be started, after which the computer will be shut down and put into hybrid sleep.
with backup, then restart
All backup tasks designated for execution at logoff will be started, after which the computer will be restarted.
without backup
Shut down the computer without any backup.
and allow hybrid sleep
Shut down the computer without any backup and put it into hybrid sleep.
and restart
Restart the computer without any backup.

Logoff

Logoff

The user will be logged off. Optionally, you can select if the backup tasks designated for execution at logoff shall be performed before.


Show

Show

You can either open the program's log window or display with Version info of the running program



J. Rathlev, 24222 Schwentinental, Germany, January 2019